Thursday October 20, 2016, @ 8PM
509 Atlantic Avenue (at 3rd Ave), Brooklyn NY


Malcolm Goldstein: “Soundings, Etc”

Matthias Kawl Trio: “After The Rain” & More


An evening of works by composer-performers incorporating improvisation into a concert music setting.


Purchase Tickets


One of the great innovators in improvised music, violinist/composer Malcolm Goldstein premieres “Soundings (2016)” for solo violin/voice; the politically motivated “Where Are We Going When We’re Standing Still, Looking Backwards?!” (2002); a duo improvisation with Matthias Kawl; and two works inspired by Martin Luther King Jr. and Samuel Beckett.

Composer Matthias Kawl brings his longstanding trio of flute, guitar, and percussion, to present “After The Rain” (with baritone Thomas Buckner): a surrealistic look at growth in capitalism, communism and literature, incorporating sounds based on recordings of Muddy Waters and of grasshoppers. Kawl’s trio will also perform “Opium for T,” (based on Ovid’s Metamorphosis, and the writings of Japanese writer Yoko Tawada), and “Untitled”, for flutes and mechanized instruments, by Berlin-based composer Marianthi Papalexandri-Alexandri.


About the Artists:

Malcolm Goldstein is American composer and improviser who has been active in the presentation of new music and dance since the early 1960s. He is equally known for his chamber and electroacoustic works and his work as a violinist in both composed and improvised settings. Mr. Goldstein attended Columbia University from 1952-59, where he studied composition with Otto Luening and earned his BA and MA. He later studied violin privately with Antonio Miranda in New York City from the mid- to late 1960s. As a performer of new music, he performs not only on violin, but also as a vocalist and has also played various found and natural objects, as well as other instruments. His “Soundings” improvisations have received international acclaim for having “reinvented violin playing”, extending the range of tonal/sound-texture possibilities of the instrument and revealing new dimensions of expressivity. He performed with the Judson Dance Theatre in New York from 1962-64, the New York Festival of the Avant Garde in the 1960s and the Experimental Intermedia Foundation in New York in the 1960s. Since then, he has performed primarily as a soloist, both in improvised and notated music. With Philip Corner and James Tenney he co-founded the Tone Roads Chamber Ensemble in 1963, a new music group that performed until 1970. He later served as director of the New Music Ensemble of Dartmouth College in the 1970s and of the Hessischer Rundfunk Ensemble für Neue Musik in Frankfurt/Main in the 1990s. As a writer, he has contributed articles about improvisation to various journals, notably Perspectives of New Music, many of which appear in From Wheelock Mountain: Music and Writings by Malcolm Goldstein (1977, in Pieces: A Profile, edited by Michael Byron). In addition, he wrote the book Sounding the Full Circle: Concerning Music Improvisation and Other Related Matters (1988, self-published, now available through the McGill University Project On Improvisation). Mr. Goldstein was commissioned by the Charles Ives Society to prepare critical editions of Ives’s Symphony No. 2 in 1976 and String Quartet No. 2 in 2002. He has been awarded grants from the National Endowment for the Arts/Inter-Arts (USA), the Massachusetts Council on the Arts, the Canada Council for the Arts, and Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec, as well as numerous commissions from Studio Akustische Kunst/WDR Cologne. In 1994 he received the Prix International award for his acoustic art/radio work “between (two) spaces”. He now resides in Sheffield, Vermont, USA and Montréal, Québec, Canada. His music is published by Frog Peak Music.


Composer Matthias Kawl formed his trio in 1983 with Astrid Smelik (flute) and Michael Shorder (guitar). Initially a rock and jazz drummer, he studied percussion at the Hamburg Musikhochschule, received numerous scholarships, and was awarded an advanced degree in Solo Performance. He has cooperated with other musicians and composers such as John Zorn, David Moss, Carla Bley, Malcolm Goldstein, Mauricio Kagel, Hans Werner Henze, Vinko Globokar and Joachim Hespos. He has made several concert tours in Europe, North and South America, Kanada, Africa, Taiwan, Japan, India and Korea. Kawl has been featured, as percussionist and composer, on numerous record labels, including Wergo, Hat Hut, col legno, and CPO. Numerous awards for his work, recently an Echo Award 2012 and the annual award of the German Record Critics 2012. Kaul has never studied composition, but he had premiered more than 300 works of other composers, and this gave him the best thinkable lessons in composition. Kaul received commissions for new pieces by Festivals like Wittener Tage neuer Kammermusik, Ferienkurse Darmstadt, Rainy Days Luxemburg, Opera houses from Munich, Hamburg, Hannover, Mutable Music (New York), IMD Darmstadt, and Arno Schmidt Stiftung.